165 gr nosler ballistic tips

outdoorguy

Ok guy I am by no means an expert but I do ok here's the specs weatherby vanguard series 2 308 I am tryin to load some 165 grain Nosler ballistic tips as you can see from the pictures 43 gr was my best group I know there are multiple things that come in to play and I know that some guns just don't like some bullets but I always have believed you can do some fine tuning I thought it might be me so I threw in my 168 Berger's and at 100 yards all three bullets were touching I love knowledge I'm not afraid to admit I don't know everything so someone tell me am I waist of my time with this I had issues with A couple unexpected close shots with the burgers they just penciled right through I have had more than my fair share of success reloading bullets and I do shoot long range I'm Just stumped on why these things right off the bat are such horrible groups I know with the burgers I had to set them right to the lands any input would be appreciated

Attachments

• 926CF2DE-6625-492C-92AA-345ED794FA0A.jpeg
    926CF2DE-6625-492C-92AA-345ED794FA0A.jpeg
    781.5 KB · Views: 227
  • 7E49EE32-A45A-4C7E-9AFA-EE989EFE6F1C.jpeg
    7E49EE32-A45A-4C7E-9AFA-EE989EFE6F1C.jpeg
    739.1 KB · Views: 187
I are your CBTO measurements on the Ballistic Tips vs Berger? I'd start by setting them the same and working up from mom to max.

what did your other groups look like as you worked up? Did you stop at 43 gr or did you go higher?

You will need to give a little more information.

As to the Berger bullets, did you check the tips to make sure the entire hollow point was clear?

Steve

I will give you my experience with the 2 bullets you mentioned. First were the tips of the Bergers cleaned as in a drill bit ran in to make sure they are?