1000 Yard Gun

gravedigger

I am calling Stiller Monday and ordering the Python action, I am leaning toward a 330 Dakota or 338 Lapua. I would like you guys opinion on a barrel and what twist to stabilize the 300 gr Sierra MK. I would also appreciate you guys opinion on the Mcree Precision aluminum stock for the above gun. I have never built a bolt gun before so it is a learning experience for me. Thanks in advance for any info given.

Last edited:
I would talk to Jerry first and ask about his TAC338 action instead of the Python. The python is a great action but flat on the bottom and wide, which "might" be an issue if you have a specific stock in mind. Whereas the TAC 338 might be more applicable.

Also, IMO I think the magazine version actions are way overrated for a non tactical 338. Nothing more than expensive "cool factor" in most real world applications. Just as fast to load singleshot and do not need $350-400 of bottom metal and magazines.

Plus the whole thing with LR "4 legged" animal hunting is a clean one shot kill. Now "2 legged varmints", a gut shot is OK and rapid followups esssential for the guys coming to grab him.

Go for the 338 Lapua in stock or Ack imp format also. Dave Kiff has several reamer designs for you to choose from.

Guys are using everything from 1-9.3 to 1-10 twists.

I am building a 338 Lapua Ack Imp now on a 1-10

BH

I am calling Stiller Monday and ordering the Python action, I am leaning toward a 330 Dakota or 338 Lapua. I would like you guys opinion on a barrel and what twist to stabilize the 300 gr Sierra MK. I would also appreciate you guys opinion on the Mcree Precision aluminum stock for the above gun. I have never built a bolt gun before so it is a learning experience for me. Thanks in advance for any info given.

I have not done a LR 338 so I am not sure for twist rate. I would say, whatever the rifles use for the 300 SMK off-hand.