Zeiss 6-24x56 Divari Windage problems

Discussion in 'Long Range Scopes and Other Optics' started by baydog7, Oct 17, 2012.

  1. baydog7

    baydog7 Member

    Messages:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    I finally got my Divari in and was trying to sight it in at 100yds just to get it on paper. In doing so I ran out of turns on my windage. Has anyone had this problem or know how to fix this or what's going on. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. marinetowgunner

    marinetowgunner Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    236
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    What type of base and rings are you using?
     

  3. baydog7

    baydog7 Member

    Messages:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Warne, Maxima, Quick detach.
     
  4. marinetowgunner

    marinetowgunner Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    236
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    hmm with 57" worth of adjustment you shouldn't have issues to zero at 100.

    could be
    -scope is messed up
    -receiver on the rifle is not drilled and tapped properly

    Do you have hunting turrets or those locking target turrets?

    If it is a hunting turret: try picking up on the turret to disengage it. Then rotate it in the opposite direction. If its clicking then you are doing it wrong. Rotate it in the opposite direction and then push back down. You might now have more travel in the direction you want to go....might not but its worth a try.

    If it is the ASV target turret the same thing can be done as well i believe.



    An adjustable windage base would help out but that might just be a bandage to a problem. You can optically center the scope then use the windage adjustment on the base to bore sight. The adjust using the scope adjustments form there.
     
  5. baydog7

    baydog7 Member

    Messages:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    I do have the ASV turrents. I did try rotating and nothing happend. The rifle is commercial mauser 98 action. I have had another scope on this rifle, and not had an issues like this. I did call Zeiss and they were fine with me sending it back. If you have any other suggestions I'm open.
     
  6. green 788

    green 788 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    563
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    how much elevation did you have dialed in? In most scope designs, you'll find that if you top out or bottom out the elevation, the windage will be limited (and vice versa, as well)...

    Before you send the scope in, I would place the rifle on a firm stand of some sort, and put the crosshairs on the target... and see if the windage turret tracks all the way back the other way. If you find your windage isn't moving at all, that's a scope malfunction. But if your windage is moving (you see the crosshairs moving across the target as you dial the windage turret), then it's pointing more toward a ring/base alignment issue.

    Other scopes might have more windage room, which could correct for a base which is off-axis with the receiver (and/or barrel).
     
  7. bruce_ventura

    bruce_ventura Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,106
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    You should diagnose the problem before sending the scope back to Zeiss. Given its a Mauser action, which was not designed to mount a scope, that's more likely where the problem lies.

    Did you change bases when you installed the Zeiss? What was the windage adjustment range of the scope that was previously on the rifle? Do you still have that scope? If you still have it, leave the windage knob as it was when the scope was installed. It may be useful to inspect that scope.

    I recommend that you remove the rings and check base alignment with a metal ruler. Place the ruler against the tops and sides of the bases and inspect each base the insure the bases are mounted true to each other. If not, they need to be shimmed or bedded.

    Then place the ruler along the sides of the bases and inspect the barrel centering with respect to the bases. Inspect the barrel as close to the muzzle as you can get the ruler. Obviously, it helps to have a long metal ruler, like 24" or even 36".

    I suspect that the barrel is not mounted parallel to the bases. That could be due to either the bases or the barrel not being mounted properly. What you should do next depends somewhat on what you learn inspecting the bases.
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2012
  8. baydog7

    baydog7 Member

    Messages:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Sorry just now getting back to you guys. I've been gone for a couple of days. When I contacted Zeiss they did tell me to go ahead and send the scope back. The new one arrived at my office yesterday while I was gone. Hopefully everything will be fine now. If not it sounds like I have a lot of great advice to try. Hopefully I will not need it, we'll find out. Thanks again for the input. I will let you know what happens. By the way Zeiss has awesome service.

    Thanks.
     
  9. baydog7

    baydog7 Member

    Messages:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Got it figured out. It was in my back base. Made a big difference. Thanks for all the info. I have another questions. I'm shooting a 9.3 x64, 250gr accubond at 2950fps. Looking for another bullet for it, that would perform well at long distance. I know I don't have that much of a selection and was wondering if anyone had any other ideas. I thought about the 286 Nos., its BC isn't to far off. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  10. n8toyota07

    n8toyota07 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    I am having a windage problem with my Zeiss Conquest 6.5-20x50 MC . I bought brand new Warne Maxima Quick Detach Rings with Weaver Bases. and mounted it on a brand new Weatherby Vanguard Varmint 308 win. I tried to bore sight it but ran out of windage by about 2 inches... I am not sure what I need to do here.
     
  11. bruce_ventura

    bruce_ventura Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,106
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Most likely a problem with either barrel or base installation. The OP sent his scope back only to find out it was a problem with his base. Problems with the rifle are far more common than most people think.

    Look at my earlier post, #7 I think. You can use an 18" straight edge and a second ruler to measure the distance between the ruler and the barrel.
     
  12. n8toyota07

    n8toyota07 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013

    Thanks, for the reply Bruce! I was pretty thrown off, Because I had my Huskemaw mounted on it prior to getting this new scope and didn't have any problems. I just picked up some new bases i got new rings to try as well. I a going to reset the scope to factory zero and we will see how it ends up. Thanks again for the input.
     
  13. n8toyota07

    n8toyota07 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Well the problem end up being the Warne Rings, I switched them out and all problems were solved... I am extremely happy now. Thanks for the help gentlemen.