WRA 68-What to do?

Bucks n Ducks

I was given about 55 rounds of WRA 68-7.62mm loaded in 5 round clips.

I've done a bit of looking around I believe the WRA 68 refers to Winchester rounds made in 1968. All I have read seems to point out they are quality rounds in very high quality brass.

I'm brand new to reloading, so new I haven't even set up my Rock Chucker kit I received a few days ago.

My question is: do these rounds have some special value as is or should I just shoot em at the range and re use the quality brass.( I have a "multi" caliber 7.62)
and BTW was there a weapon that used the 7.62 five round clips or was the purpose of the clip to load a magazine?

Thanks, from the FNG

About the only gun I remember that used strippers was the 1903 Springfield with its internal box magazine, but it was .30-06 Springfield...

However, I do remember that back then they liked to ship ammo in 5-round clips. Federal Lake City loads 10-round clips with 5.56x45 ammo even to this day... So that's probably all it is. Just an easier way of carrying ammo without having to carry loose rattling rounds around with you.

Lake City Ammo 5.56x45mm NATO 62 Grain XM855 SS109 Penetrator Full

If you are that new to reloading, I suggest watching LOTS of YouTube videos and reading as much info as you can, before you even prime a case...

Reloading can be dangerous for you and for others. ALWAYS go by the manual when reloading. I recommend the Nosler 7 reloading manual. But I always shoot Nosler bullets out of just about everything. Speer makes a good one, so does Hornady, Berger, etc... Always double and triple check everything. Nobody wants to see anyone get hurt, so I'm just giving you a few pointers. Check out IraqVeteran8888's YouTube page, he has TONS of reloading basics videos and also a few tips that are very helpful.