winchester model 70 laredo lrh .300win mag

jasonstewart

i have recently become very interested in long range shooting and hunting. i purchased this rifle with a leopold 3.5x10x50ao vari x iii. i guess to start with. how far is the effective range of this rifle. i would like to be able to achieve 800 yards. is this possible? is there a best factory load available for this caliber and range desired? i have been hunting for many years, but have just ventured into the idea of 300+ yards. my longest shot that i have made on a deer was about 310 yard with a 7mm. i have shot the 300 at the range and am comfortable with this. but i want more. i have a stand that overlooks a 75 acre peanut field and would like to be able to shoot the entire thing. 846yards. and suggestions would be greatly appreciated. i also have a savage 110 30-06 with a leupold varix iii 6.5x20x40ao. any suggestions for this rifle. thankyou very much. jason stewart

Jason,
The .300 is more than capable of taking deer/hogs/bear at 1000yds. You have to be up to it though. Practice at all the ranges you expect to see/take game. The Laredo is set up for long range and is the Winchester version/competition for the Remington Sendero. It (Laredo) has the 26" Varmint profile barrel and I think the stock is made for Winchester by HS Precision and has the aluminum bedding block. The trigger, if stock, is one of the industries most easily adjusted. Simple, crisp and very effective.
I've never owned a Laredo but I recently purchased a Win70 HVB in .243 Win. It's basically the short action version of the Laredo and it flat out shoots! This rifle shoots as tight as any Sendero or VS that I've ever owned. Wouldn't hesitate to purchase a Laredo should our paths cross.