Winchester 70 ~ Should the barrel float?

ArmedAviator

I new to rifles. So I tried to float the barrel in the hot tub, it sank! did i do something wrong?

Seriously, i am new to rifles. Got distracted by the nice lines and bought a winchester model 70 xtr sporter varmint in .223. I'm pretty sure it sat in a safe or gun cabinet since the late eightys.

Cleaned it up, replaced the scope, had the trigger adjuster from 9 lbs down to 3.5 lbs.

I came across the info on floating barrels. I can run a dollar bill from the action end to about the sling knobby thing. Then it sticks. I took the sling thing out and it still sticks around the point.

Should a winchester 70 barrel float all the way out?

Thanks for any advice

Generally speaking, you 'should' free float your barrel from the recoil lug all the way out. In your case, shoot the rifle first and see how it performs. If it's eradic, then float the barrel. The guiding principle here is 'if it ain't broke, don't fix it'

I new to rifles. So I tried to float the barrel in the hot tub, it sank! did i do something wrong? ... I came across the info on floating barrels. I can run a dollar bill from the action end to about the sling knobby thing. Then it sticks. I took the sling thing out and it still sticks around the point.

It's a fact that a dollar today doesn't go nearly as far as it used to. My advice is to take your Win 70 a range and see how well it and you can shoot. Typically you need 500 to 1000 rounds of careful practice spread over maybe a year before you'll be able to tell if a rifle shoots ok, if free floating would help, or if it and/or you are simply hopeless.

If you expect to go to the range and shoot consistent sub 1/2 moa groups you're likely to be disappointed. I wouldn't be quick to attribute whatever accuracy you get to the barrel being floated or not. Winchester (USRA) did have a basic understanding of how to build rifles.

Thanks guys.