Wich .300 magnum?

huntokanogan

I have been hunting with a Rem. 700 mountain rifle in a .270 win for years and am very happy with it. I hunt mule deer mostly and 300 yard shot are not uncommon. I actualy took a deer (believe it or not at 512 yards) with it a few years back. Though I am not really a proponent of long range hunting and think thats too far for most people to shoot. Long range hunting, unless people are good enough to shoot that far leads to a lot of game being injured in my opinion.
I am looking to step up to a 300 magnum. I am considering a 300WSM, 300 Win. mag, or maybe even a 300 RUM. Whats the pro's and con's of each round? I don't plan on shooting much over 300-400 yards and want a gun that is light enough with a short enough barrel to shoot free hand comfortably. I have a buddy with a 300 RUM in a Sendero and its a nice gun but just too big of a rifle for what I use it for. Also I don't really want to spend a thousand dollars on a gun.
What are your opinions on the rilfe/cartridge combination that I should go with? Any input would be greatly appreciated! thanks!
What do people think about that FN patrol rifle in a 300WSM with a 24" barrel? At 9lbs. it sounds a little heavy.

Last edited: