Why not Huskemaw

crittrgittr

As I've stated before, I'm relatively new to the long range scene. I'm wondering why I never see the Huskemaw scopes in here? I never see them talked about in the forums section and never see them for sale in the classifieds. Is it because no one has them, or no one wants to sell the ones they have? I just thought it was strange that one of the more popular long range tv shows; the best of the west really promotes them, and also sells them, and there is no mention of them in here.

Mr Backus does sell them on here. They have a decent reticle as well. For the price range though some people feel that the glass isn't good enough. All personal preference.

I can't give you a why not just a "why".

For what we have to shell out for quality glass, I'm just not going to gamble my hard earned dollars on an "off brand" that I know little or nothing about which I may or may not ever be able to get warranty or service work done on if needed.

Leupold, Zeiss, IOR, USO, NF will all be around a hundred years from now if my grand kids need to get a scope fixed they inherited from me and in most cases it will be done for free under warranty.

With all that being said the question then is why would you risk those hard earned dollars on an off brand scope?

There has been several discussions on this forum on the Huskemaw for a few years. I own two of them and really like them. I also own three Nightforce and four Leupold MK4's. I like the Huskemaw better than the Mark 4's , and find they don't give up much if anything to the Nightforces. Long term reliability remains to be seen but so far they have performed flawlessly on ten whitetails and antelope between 400 and 1000 yards. I will put another on my next hunting rifle.

thanx for the replies. I was just curious about never hearing about them. and of all the pics of your nice hunting rigs, I never saw one mounted on any of them.