why not 30-06

Discussion in 'Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics' started by Bubbahfd, Jan 15, 2013.

1. Bubbahfd

Bubbahfd Member

Im new to the long range scene. Im planning on building a 300 win mag for a long range rig but I was just curious.....whenever I was browsing through the forum and I see very little to no mention of a 30-06 for long range hunting/shooting say out to 1000yrds? What am I missing? Seems to be a pretty good 30cal option....can be loaded with great bc bullets, good velocity and I assumn readily availability in brass to reload. What and I missing? Would a custom type rifle say with a blueprinted remmy 700 action thats been solidly bedded with a quality barrel and stock not offert the same 1000yrd accuracy as say a 308 or 300win with the same qualities?

2. HARPERC

HARPERC Well-Known Member

Yes a 30-06 built with similar level of quality will produce similar accuracy results. Terminal performance will get debated, but I think most would agree to give the 300 WinMag the nod as you're talking LRH not just shooting.

3. benchracer

benchracer Well-Known Member

With the availability of some of the newer bullet designs and some of the newer powders, I think the 30-06 deserves a second look. Of course, the same components can be applied to the various .300 Magnums to provide a similar boost.

Still, using the latest reloading components, the good ole' 30-06 deserves more respect than it gets, IMO.

Though his writing is mostly geared to long range target shooting, I highly recommend Mr. German Salazar's writings on the subject. You may find what he has to say to be eye-opening. He has posted a lot of information regarding the 30-06 on his blog: The Rifleman's Journal

4. HARPERC

HARPERC Well-Known Member

I agree a very good reference.

5. RT2506

RT2506 Well-Known Member