Wheeler Scope Level Problem

birdiemc

I noticed last time I was shooting (had just recently mounted a new scope) my reticle seemed very canted, but since I had used my handy dandy wheeler engineering scope level level tool, or whatever it's called, I figured I must have been holding my rifle all wrong, but it sure as heck didnt feel right when I had the cross hairs where they appeared to be level. So tonight I decided to recheck and realized that both of the spirit levels that came in the set I bought are off. The one for the bolt raceway is only off by a few degrees, but the other one is not even close. Not sure why I trusted them straight out of the box, I'm a home builder and when I go buy a new level I check every one in the store to find the cheapest one that's the most accurate.
Just figured I would pass this little tidbit along as a reminder to those who know but might forget like I did, or for those who might not know. To check a level place it on a flat level surface, rotate it 180 degrees the bubble should stay centered. Can do it without level surface, just note where the bubble is before rotating, it should land in the same position on the opposite side of the tube, if that makes sense.

I had the same problem with the Wheeler level. I use a different level now that works great, its the Tank reticle level by Xtreme Hardcore Gear. I also stopped using an action level. Now I place my rifles in a gun vise, install the lower portion of the rings and level the rifle off of them. This has worked well so far.

That because the tool is impractical the way most people use it. You really only need the loose level and some 550 cord...which you can get at home depot for couple bucks.

So your reticle is crooked because when manufacturers install the parts...specifically the reticle, despite wired or etched...its not in the scope "perfect." Leveling the body of the scope...usually from the turret doesn't mean that the reticle is plumb. As you are all figuring out.