what scope to buy

Eric S

I am new to the sport.i am looking for a scope in the 300-400 price range.I will be installing this on a 243.I am looking for a scope with a regular retical and hand adjustable turrets that can go back to zero.around a 4-16 range power,tube size don't madder.any input would help.

eric,
I recently bought a Nikon Buckmaster 6-18X40 for $315.00 out the door, and am well pleased with it. I have had zero problems dialing from 0-650 yds. So far it has maintained its zero while taking the abuse of my .300WinMag with stout 180-190gn loads. It can be had with the "regular" duplex reticle, comes with two sets of elevation/windage knobs, 4" sunshade and parallex adjustment on the side.
My .243 Win70 HVB has a Nikon Monarch 6.5-20X44 and my 7mmRM Rem700P has a Leupold VariX-III 4.5-14X40 and the BuckMaster is just as clear and as solid as these two are for a little less money.
MidwayUSA was running a sale on them for 299.99. May still be going on. JohnnyK.

In that price range the Nikon Monarch is the best I have found. I just got seven in yesterday and two of those are in 4-16 with duplex reticles. If you want one of those I will ship it to you for $345. They are all still in the factory sealed boxes. Most of my business was in Leupolds for years. Now it is Nikon Monarchs.

From what I've read on the Vortex and my personal experience with Nikon I can't disagree with any one of these posts.

By the way welcome to LRH!

Last edited:
I am new to the sport.i am looking for a scope in the 300-400 price range.I will be installing this on a 243.I am looking for a scope with a regular retical and hand adjustable turrets that can go back to zero.around a 4-16 range power,tube size don't madder.any input would help.
i would look at a leupold vx II in 6-18 with target knobs very good scope in that price range clear and comes in fine duplex or their ballistic reticle as well

Nikon Buckmaster 4-12x50 (have 1 on my 243, hasnt failed me)
nikon monarch 4-12x42