What base to get?

BThomsen

I am wondering what kind of base to get. I have a Remington 700 long range chambered in .300 win mag and a Vortex Viper PST 6-24x50 FFP with vortex rings. This will mainly be used for elk out west but it could see some use in MN for whitetail with shorter distances. I've been told conflicting information that I should get a 20 moa base or a 0 moa base. The brand I was looking at was Badger Ordinance. This is my first time posting here and any help would be greatly appreciated.

I am wondering what kind of base to get. I have a Remington 700 long range chambered in .300 win mag and a Vortex Viper PST 6-24x50 FFP with vortex rings. This will mainly be used for elk out west but it could see some use in MN for whitetail with shorter distances. I've been told conflicting information that I should get a 20 moa base or a 0 moa base. The brand I was looking at was Badger Ordinance. This is my first time posting here and any help would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome to LRH and enjoy!

IIWY, I'd definitely get the 20 MOA canted base. It is better to have it and not needed, besides, this is LRH. :):Dgun)

This is one of the best advice from an optics SME ...

Even though the scope adjustment range may be large enough to get to 1,000 yds, you should use a 20 moa base. That's because off-axis optical aberrations that degrade resolution increase with incidence angle. You should set up your rifle so that the incidence angle is minimized for long distance shots (where resolution matters most).

Assume the base is within +/-10 moa of alignment with the rifle bore. Let's also assume your bullet drops no more than 30 moa at 1,000 yds, and you like to zero your rifle at 100 yds. With a standard base, you would need up to -40 moa of adjustment to get to 1,000 yds. That means you need a total 80 moa of adjustment.