What age to start out younguns??

duckinalaska

Hey guys,
I just got my five year old boy a ruger 10/22 for shooting the other day. My wife is going nuts because she thinks that he is too young. I just can't wait for him to get started and my grandpa is already building deer stands for the two of them. What my wife don't know is that I'm already starting on 308 "downloads" for him. What do you guys think?
Brandon

IMO it is never too early to begin instruction and supervised shooting. I have two boys and both began with open site 22's at about the same age as your lad. They are now 9 and 10 years old and are getting along well with their P22's, 10/22's and youth 870 scatterguns. It has been an absolute joy to watch them progress with their safety and shooting skills.

Good shooting!

I started shooting about age 5 as did my son. We have a ritual in that the first gun is a BB gun (quality model). ALL shooting is first under instruction and indoors into a box of rags (BB recovery system). Once the shooter can shoot one BB hole and then shoot that same BB hole with the next shot (consistently) the gun can be taken outside. Again there is supervised instruction and then free run. There are also the rules that go with any dangerous equipment and gun safety rules. The kicker in this system is that the shooter is known accurate and the gun known precise. ANYTHING shot was pretty much the intended target... Holes out of place are cause for loss of the gun.... There are no accidental holes.

Guys,
I agree with both of you. I have been preaching safety with him for a long time now. That is the most important thing that I can stress to him. Here is a picture of him resting his new 10/22 on my ol' Chevy K5 hunting rig.
416598.jpg