Vortex Viper HS LR turrets

Southwind

I am thinking about buying a Vortex Viper HS LR 4x16x50 for my little summer boredom project I put together.

This is a hunting rig in 7rm and have always been hesitant to put a scope on a rifle that has exposed adjustable turrets. I am wondering for you gentlemen that use them is a hunting applications how susceptible they are to accidental adjustment?

I started shooting the same optic earlier this year and your going to have to do something scary to move the top turret just in normal use. The windage turret is capped so it's GTG and with the zero stop on the elevation turret even if you some how had it turned you'd notice it not on zero then turn it back to the stop then to zero. You have to grab and move the turret, you don't just finger twiddle it!!!

I started shooting the same optic earlier this year and your going to have to do something scary to move the top turret just in normal use. The windage turret is capped so it's GTG and with the zero stop on the elevation turret even if you some how had it turned you'd notice it not on zero then turn it back to the stop then to zero. You have to grab and move the turret, you don't just finger twiddle it!!!

That's what I wanted to hear, thanks for the feedback. How are you liking the scope overall?

i have the regular version and can't quite understand why you want the LR. the regular has caps and on a carry rifle, i just think this is close to a must. the regular has 1/4 adjustments, i think 1/2 is too much. the regular doesn't stick up as high. twice i did a tracking test with mine and the repeatability was superb!

Dave, I'm sure the standard would be fine as well and I may end up there. The 1/2" clicks doesn't really bother me and I like the 75 minutes of adjustment vs. the 50 even though 50 would probably be plenty for this rig.

Weighing the differences for now.