Vortex 6x24x50 ffp MOA on its way!

Discussion in 'Long Range Scopes and Other Optics' started by tikkat3270wsm, Jun 6, 2011.

  1. tikkat3270wsm

    tikkat3270wsm Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    151
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    gun)Well my wife bought me the scope described above for fathers day. Just found out it is on it's way! I can't wait till it gets here. I have done alot of research over the last year, and have found that for the money, I don't think you can get a better scope,W/all the bells and whistles. I bought a cheap Barska 4-16 x 50 for my 270wsm. It is what you would expect for $100.00 only worse. I shot my first groups at 300(1st time at that distance) and know with a better scope the groups will shrink(1.487, extreme spread). Will post a reveiw and more pics.as the weeks go on.:D
     

    Attached Files:

    • 006.jpg
      006.jpg
      File size:
      23.2 KB
      Views:
      0
  2. Jon A

    Jon A Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,092
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Congrats! It's a very nice scope!
     

  3. timmyatnop

    timmyatnop Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    387
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Are the hash marks going to be one moa, when the scope is on 24 power.?
     
  4. brentc

    brentc Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,599
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    No, the hash marks are 2 MOA separation at all power levels on the FFP.
     
  5. timmyatnop

    timmyatnop Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    387
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Ok sound good .one moa would be better though.
     
  6. brentc

    brentc Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,599
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    I actually don't mind the 2 MOA separation for hunting, it keeps the reticle cleaner. Really though, using the reticle for holdover is secondary for me, I prefer to dial the turrets. However, I do like the quick shot capability of the MOA reticle for holdovers.

    For the in between shots bracketing the animal between the 2 MOA hash marks shouldn't be an issue with big game, the smaller targets may be a problem.

    For the really long shots you should have enough time to set up and dial the turret and hold dead on.
     
  7. tikkat3270wsm

    tikkat3270wsm Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    151
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    With the ballistic program , I will be able to dial up to what ever I need. Wont be using the hash marks much.gun)
     
  8. timmyatnop

    timmyatnop Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    387
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Oh I see your going to dial for wind drift then.
     
  9. tikkat3270wsm

    tikkat3270wsm Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    151
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    I will have to learn the way to use the hash 's , but thats half the fun. Thanks for asking.
     
  10. tikkat3270wsm

    tikkat3270wsm Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    151
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    So here are a few pics of my rig. Its not what most of you guys have , but I like it , and next year at this time it will look much different. I am going to get it re-barreled and re-stocked. For now it works, sub minute groups at 100 and not bad at 300 so far. . 450 -500 is what i am looking as of now.
     
  11. tikkat3270wsm

    tikkat3270wsm Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    151
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Here r the pics.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. joseph

    joseph Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,238
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
  13. Forester

    Forester Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    436
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    That works too, as long as you hunt fairly predictable temperatures, altitude, and don't mind a new turret if you change loads.
     
  14. tikkat3270wsm

    tikkat3270wsm Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    151
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    That is half the fun! Besides ,with the ballistic program from Vortex, it takes alot of the guess work out. I will be sighting the new scope in tomorrow( 6/11/11) .Will let you guys know how i do.gun)