Viper PST problems

Discussion in 'Long Range Scopes and Other Optics' started by Elkhunter1983, Feb 16, 2013.

  1. Elkhunter1983

    Elkhunter1983 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    387
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    I recently got my rifle bedded and went back to the range to try it out and my first shot was 3" left and about 2" high at 100 yds shot again to make sure and it was pretty close. I then moved my turret 3 min to the right and shot again, same cluster. Finished the group and then adjusted it 3 more min right. Next group was still 3" right and now I am livid. Finally put the rifle in the rest and track both turrets and the crosshairs don't move at all. Guess I am going to have to try out that warranty they brag about. Good glass but bad functionability. Also i notice a liquid leaking leaking out in the seam on the bell end will post photos of that later today.
     
  2. emn83

    emn83 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    801
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    that sucks dude. Hope it all works out for you. My PST has been flawless. Everything I have heard says that their CS is top notch
     

  3. Coyboy

    Coyboy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,132
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    could be an issue of the ear ring tourqued down to tight, try and loosen the rear ring and then set it in your rest and dial the turrets and see if they move.
     
  4. luke

    luke Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    192
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    When I was moving last year my wife leaned my rifle against the wall and it fell over. A 16 lb gun landing on the bell was no good and I could see that it was bent. The next day I boxed it up with a letter telling them what happened. I overnighted to vortex and 2 days later they overnighted a brand new one no questions asked. That is great cs in my opinion.
     
  5. Elkhunter1983

    Elkhunter1983 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    387
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    I actually had my torque wrench with me and backed them off and tightened down to 25 in lbs and tried it again and nothing.
     
  6. Elkhunter1983

    Elkhunter1983 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    387
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Every time I look at the scope this liquid is coming out of the seam so I wipe it off and keep doing the game all over again.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. calib

    calib Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    583
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    i know if you tell them 25 in lbs they are going to tell you way to tight and that you are pinching the tube. try 15 lbs and see if that does it
     
  8. Elkhunter1983

    Elkhunter1983 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    387
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    The reason it won't track is because my mount on my action does not line up with the barrel and it on its last rotation of adjustment to the right. It still had approx 13 min of adjustment right still according to the turret but it would not move when i cranked it over to the left a couple of revolutions, it tracked again. The same happened up and down because I shoot off of a 20 moa base so it is near the bottom of its adjustment. I still have 4 min left before I hit the end but it will not track down anymore. Must be a safeguard of some kind.
     
  9. calib

    calib Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    583
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    sounds like you're scope base screw holes are not lined up rite possibly, that's not rare. i have had the 20 moa base issue to where i am near the end of adjustment, means you have more adjustments for longer shots. the windage though i have never had to be maxed or nearly maxed out to the side. I would un mount everything check it all and re mount and then bore sight at the house weather you have a laser or you go old school and look through the bore and match up the retical and what you are centering in the bore and see how much windage you have.

    if it is windage you can get the holes drilled and taped to the larger size screws and they can line them up better then.


    i just looked at your post about the liquid, i don't have any idea about that. i would call them and they will send you a shipping label via email you print it out and slap it on your scope package and sent it in. they are pretty fast and will replace if needed.
     
  10. gamehawker

    gamehawker Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    933
    Joined:
    May 15, 2011

    There's your problem, you have over torqued your scope rings!

    What were they before you torqued them at 25 lbs, 40 lbs???? :rolleyes:

    At 25 lbs they are still over torqued. You should only torque your scope rings to 15 ibs!

    http://www.longrangehunting.com/forums/f37/torque-recomendations-29756/