velocity spreed

retiredcpo

OK Im new to this whole chrono stuff
I took my new chrono out for a fun day at the range testing and chronoing loads
my question is if you have a load that shoots reall good Sub moa out to 1000 yards
but the velocity spread is large 50 fps or larger what can be done to try to tighten this up or should a guy just not worry about
Maybee I should not have added a chrono to the mix one more thing to mess with my extremly cloudy head.
thanks
retiredcpo

Forgot to ask how long do you guys wait between shots when working with a chrono
thanks again
retiredcpo

FWIW, in my opinion; if you're perfectly satisfied with sub moa at 1000 yds (as I believe most would be) then don't worry about it. Especially if the groups are minimum vertical spread.

I've never put a whole lot of faith in chrono's, especially the cheaper ones. I would rather develop a tight load that shoots minimum vertical at long range and then chronograph to get an average velocity. Rather than base my load off the chrono's data.........Just the way I've done it.

I suppose that maybe some of the high dollar precision units might be useful for load development, but I've never had one of those.

The most accurate factory barrel rifle I ever laid my hands on was my old 220 Swift Ruger 77. It shot 1/2 minute to 700 yds on calm days and all my load development was without a chrono. In fact, I had nearly 4000 rounds through the gun before I even bought a chrono.

I am sure some others rely on chrono data and aren't satisfied unless they get small ES and SD #'s.

SBruce
sounds like you do your loads just like we allways have . The Chrono is a good one i believe its a CED M2
Got it just to know how fast our loads are going for use in Ballistic calculatrrs insteed of guess.
but now it has us second guess good loads
With all that said I am not changing loadsv
just wondering if there was someting minor you could do to improve things
retiredcpo