Velocity inconsistent

smokeumm

I'm testing the berger hunting vld 168 gr bullets in my 7mm stw. The speeds I'm getting vary from 3,240 to 3,285. This load shots great but I'm worried about the inconsonant velocities. I'm new to chronographing loads, so is having a load plus or minus 45 fps reasonable??? If not, what should I expect the variance to be?

Last edited:
need a little more info to help come up with answer, how far from muzzle is crono? how many shots to average? what crono? battery new in crono? what is vertical spread on target and what range to target?

The chrono is 10ft from muzzle. I've shot ruffly 10 shots. The battery is a few months old, but the chrono has maybe been used 5 times since I bought it. It is a Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph. The range is 100 yards and my grouping is good, maybe 1/2 of an inch,, no more. The vertical spread is around 3/8 of an inch.

If everything is dialed in with a load, what is a reasonable variance in speed?

move crono to 15' from muzzle, and make sure it's level. also, use sky screens all the time.

move crono to 15' from muzzle, and make sure it's level. also, use sky screens all the time.

AGREE with the above. At 10' from the muzzle you are possible getting some false readings due to muzzle blast. In fact I put mine at 20'. Keep in mind that at that distance you need to go back into a balllistic program to get "true" muzzle velocity which I would guess will be about 10-15 fps faster than your chrony is reading.

The news is out... :D velocity will vary a bit from shot to shot.....:D

A bit of variance is normal. You should try to stay away from 100 fps extreme deviation by a long shot, but a 20 fps or so x like you are talking about isn't that bad. Like the others have said, get the chrono back a few feet(15-20) and level, use diffusers or sky screens, and then you'll know what your real variation is.