used kestrel 2500 or 3500??

Discussion in 'Long Range Hunting & Shooting' started by Frogman77, Apr 17, 2009.

  1. Frogman77

    Frogman77 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    154
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Hey guys, newbie here. Sorry if I"m posting in the wrong area but I was wondering if anyone knew where I might be able to buy a used kestrel 2500 or 3500?? Does anyone sell preowned stuff online?? Just getting started and I'm just trying to save some money where I can...This stuff starts to add up really quick!!

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Broz

    Broz Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    8,637
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    PM sent
     

  3. Michael Eichele

    Michael Eichele Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,829
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    If youre looking to save some coin, look at the Brunton ADC Summit. You can get a new one cheaper than a used Kestral. They are more simple but read temp, pressure and wind. That IMHO is all you need for a LR shot. Humidity is small potatoes.
     
  4. Frogman77

    Frogman77 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    154
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    thanks for the rec on the brunton...I think I might just go with it...I can buy a brunton adc summit new shipped for 60.00 online!! all i ever heard or read was about the kestrels....
     
  5. vintec

    vintec Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    148
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    If you want a kestrel I just got mine from a group buy on snipershide. It is a decent buy on them
     
  6. davewilson

    davewilson Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    personally, i wouldn't get a weather station unless it had altitude. very important.
     
  7. pretex

    pretex Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    65
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Are all kestrel's waterproff?
     
  8. jmason

    jmason Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,527
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008

    Why do you need the altitude if you have the pressure for the altitude you at?
     
  9. davewilson

    davewilson Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    look at the numbers on a balistic table and just change the altitude. why is the drop so much different when you leave the BP the same.
     
  10. jmason

    jmason Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,527
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    No malice intent Dave. Just trying to understand. In some types of ballistic software you don't need to put in altitude if you use "uncorrected pressure". Maybe you can't get '"uncorrected pressure" w/o having the "altitude" function on the Kestrel.
     
  11. Frogman77

    Frogman77 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    154
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    i just got my kestrel in the mail yesterday...and it gives raw pressure or absolute pressure, station pressure....I think all three terms are the same? It also has options to enter a reference altitude or reference pressure to get accurate altitude or accurate bp depending on what your application is...in the manual it states that for use with ballistic softwares to leave the settings as they are and use the absolute pressure at your location.
     
  12. jmason

    jmason Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,527
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008

    Did you get the 3500? Is the absolute pressure "uncorrected pressure"?

    What I mean by "uncorrected pressure" is it's not adjusted for altitude. Just trying to get a better handle on some things here.:)
     
  13. Frogman77

    Frogman77 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    154
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    3500, only because i got a really good deal on it...yes, it is uncorrected. you can correct for either altitude or pressure.

    meaning you can input your exact altitude and it will read the pressure trends based on the weather.

    or

    you can input your reference pressure for where you start at and then as you climb you will get your accurate altitudes.

    or
    leave both reference settings at 0 and do neither and it will give you station pressure or uncorrected pressure at your location.

    at least that's what I can get from the manual after reading it a few times.