turning and reforming brass

10X

I need some expert tips on what tools to use to turn and reform brass. I want to rebate the rim so it fits my bolt head. how do I hold the cases and is there a tool available for rim turning.
I am not new to making wildcats but this is my first time turning a rim
the obvious question.. well the answer is I dont want to open up the bolt head because I have 3 barrels for this gun and I change it around now I want to use a bigger case for metalic silhouette

I do mine on the lathe also, but I do it like an oldtimer showed me,put a brass rod in the chuck, turn it to the size of the bullet,push the case on with the tailstock,turn then pull the case off. I don,t know how you chuck the case in.Seems it would be hard to turn even!

I have done this in my lathe with a form tool that I made. Soft ( machinable) collets are available to make a custom one for your specific case.What case are you trying to modify to what bolt face?

I made a tapperd sleve that was chucked up in the lathe, the shell casing presses into the sleve, just lightly tap the case, it will not move. Then there is a cut out for a small screw driver to fit into, this acts like an extractor to remove the caseing. I made a wildcat for a customer, he wanted to make a 338 mag for a short action rifle. We took 348 win cases, turned off the rims, cut an extractor groove, improved the case to a 40 deg shoulder, short fat case that fit into a Rem 600 action. Made a heck of a mountain rifle. Velocity was equal to that of a 338 win mag, non belted mag case. Sound familar? I only made one of these rifles, too much work making the cases.

Dave