Treatment of primer explosion wound

proload

I've been reloading for 15 years, and have just experienced my first reloading accident.

It was very dumb I know, so lets not get into that .... :rolleyes:

I was annealing brass cases (243 Win) and somehow a primed case (CCI BR2 Primer) landed up in the batch of brass that I was annealing. Well, it went off with a huge bang, and to be fair scared the $$$$ out of me.

The primer exited the case and struck me on the outside of my right index finger creating what initially looked like a round blood blister. The skin was severed in a star like pattern. The force of the impact was very hard, and my finger was numb for several hours. There was some bleeding, but not too much.

I cleaned the wound out with detol (same as savlon) and it seemed like a lot of black stuff (sort of like powder residue) came out. Thinking that it would help to clean the wound property, I cut off all the skin around the wound and cleaned it again. This revealed a reasonably deep cut through the flesh. I poked around to see if there were any bits of the primer cup in the wound. I found nothing and assume that the cut was caused by the impact forcing the tissue against the bone.

This all happened about 12 hours ago.

I treated the wound as per usual with antiseptic creme and a bandage.

This morning, I changed the dressing, and there was definite discharge from the wound during the night. The finger is sore, but not unbearable. It feels like the finger has been hit really hard with a hammer. What concerns me is that the muscle tissue around the wound (about 1cm either side) feels numb, and I am slightly concerned as to whether I should go see the doc.

After extensive searching I have not been able to find the primer cup. I have found the anvil.

Do you guys think I should see the doc?

Usually when I'm even questioning going to the doctor it means I should, I would get it checked out to make sure nothing is still in there.

I work as a Paramedic.