Too much scope?

MPBR

Hey all.

I'm just getting into the whole long range hunting thing.....I live way up in the North and did all my hunting the last several years with a pre-64 Model 94 30-30 in thick brush for big bucks. I also shoot a .308 with a 3-9x40 when hunting slightly more open areas or moose.

This season I'm going to be trying some different tactics and hunting wide open clear cuts on brush edges where I may need to make 200-600 yard shots. I also have a Western moose/elk hunt planned next year so have decided to setup a really true long range capable rig. This rifle will be for sitting and waiting for game to come to me.

I already purchased a Vortex Viper 6.5-20x50 PA...now I'm wondering if it is too much scope for practical hunting purposes. I'm just wanting to try something with higher magnification, practice long range shooting and be able to drop a deer at 500+ yards..I'm thinking of putting it on a Savage 14 American in 270 WSM...not a true 'long range' rifle, its a sporter but I like the blued wood look and its handy enough to hike with if I have too.

Thoughts or suggestions? Is this a good scope and rifle combo for my intended purposes?

Thanks

I think the scope you have chosen is a good choice. With a magnification range from 6.5-20 it will handle both the up-close stuff to the waaaaaay over there stuff.

My one suggestion for you would be on cartridge choice. The 270wsm is a nice cartridge. .277 bullets do not have the best ballistic coefficients (BC) which will not be optimal as you become more proficient and want to shoot farther and farther.

My recommendation would be to go with the 300wsm (available in the same Savage 14 American Classic). There you get much better BCs.

I shoot a Savage model 12 270 WSM as my primary long range rifle with a 4-16 Vortex HS LR, the 6.5-20 should work fine but it will depend on your terrain and the ranges you'll shoot.