Tikka t3 lite

beyond

I am new to longrange shoooting and hunting. I have bought a tikka t3 lite chambered in 270wsm and am shooting 130grn barnes x bullets factory loaded fedrals. The rifle is topped with a bushnell elite 10x40 mill dot scope and the trigger has been worked by a good gunsmith to a crisp 2lbs of pull.I have been using the mills to range and checking it witha range finder and am becoming better all the time. The thing i need to know is if you all think this setup is able to make a 1000yrd shot provided I can do my part?

I have 2 of them. Both like factory 150 gr remington accutips. Both consistently hit a 10" gong at 1000 if I read the wind right. However ... if you really want to get serious about this you'll soon realize that you need to reload. It saves tons of money. For reloads I use 150 grain sst's and magpro. The accutips and my reloads have > 1000 ft/lbs at 1000 yards at my elevation. I'm not sure how they expand at reduced velocities though. Once my shoulder heals, I'll try the new Bergers. I'm thinking that they'll expand better long range. However the SST's have performed great on deer out to 570 yards. I haven't shot an animal farther than that.

I also have a T3 in a 300wsm and really like it. One of the drawbacks to the T3 is simply the weight of the rifle. Mine is a tack driver for a factory rifle, but holding it rock steady for really long shots is a little hard.

First, Welcome abord.

Of the over-the-counter rifles out there, the T3 is hard to beat. I have one in 270 Win. My rifle, with its' perferred handload shoots 1/2 moa 3 shot groups from a cold barrel. I use a 300 yd zero. With the tools listed below, I would not hesitate to use my T-3 Lite 270 Win out to 750 yds on a mule deer. For an Elk, I would stop at 450 yds.

Look seriously at the 150gr boattail loads for your rifle. I am not sure that your barrel's twist rate will stablize the hyper low drag Wildcat 195 gr VLD's that the guys are shooting in thier 270 AM's.