Switch Barrel Configuration for Rem 700?

MontanaRifleman

I would like to get my Senderos set up for swapping out barrels. For instances, I would like to be able to swap out my 300 RUM when not in use during elk season to something like a 25-06 for shooting coyotes, praire dogs and general fun plinking. It will let me get more practical use out of the rifle and scope all year round.

So, the question is... has anyone done this in a Rem 700 action?

Do I need a barrel nut or no?

What are the advantages of a barrel nut?

Whether it takes me 15 min or 30 min isn't that important. Being able to do it corectly and fairly easily is important.

What tools would I need, with or without a barel nut.

I'm looking for info so I can speak somewhat inteligently with the smith when I put the proposal to him.

Thanks in advance,

Mark

now I am no pro by no means.but if you were able to use the same bolt face for two different cal's and two different barrels.I would think all you needed was a barrel vise and action wrench.

as long as you use the same action,same lug you should be fine with the two different barrels.would just need to make sure the smith uses the same lug or keep the two lugs at all times together with the proper barrel so you want make a mistake and change the chambering of the case with the wrong barrel and lug.and I wouldn't think it would only take about 15 min to change barres.thats if you do not bugger up the threads of the action or barrel.

and one thing to look at is the base mount screw where the barrel threads in the action.you may need to just grind off a thread or two so it want bugger up the threads of the barrel.

My 338 Edge is set up as a switch barrel gun. I have 2 barrels. 300 RUM and 338 Edge. There is no nut. This is on a 700 action.