Sticky bolt on hand loads

RustyRick

My brother and I bought 2 - Model 660 Remington in the 6.5 Rem Mag caliber in a 18.5 inch barrel about 40 yrs ago. I didn't keep mine for very long for the reason below.

Factory loads eject NO problem. For all HAND loads I need a 2x4 and a light tap to pull the bolt back. The lift is usually OK, but sometimes a wee bit stiff, BUT NOT OFTEN and not bad.

Now before you say it's excessive loading, hold on. I've been loading for close to 50 yrs. This is the only gun I've ever see do that predictably. No let me list for you the loads.

Sierra HP Varmiter 85 gr, 4350 @ 52.5 gr and up to 55.5 - all stick, every one.
Hornady Spire Point 140 gr, 4831 @ 49.5 to 51.5 MV avg 2500 fps
Nosler AB 140 gr, 4831 @ 51 to 53 MV avg 2500 fpc

Factory Rem Core-Lokt 120gr, MV 2800+ fps

Primer pockets aren't stretching, I have around 5 shots out of the bras and no sign of cracks. Primers aren't moon cratered any more from my light loads to the heavy loads.

We're sure looking for a lightbulblightbulb idea. :D

Sticky bolts are mostly caused by plastic deformation of the brass.
Deformation that will do that can be made with a lot less pressure of the lug abutments in the receiver are dented from previous heavy loads. Shooting the rifle with the barrel full of rain water will do it.

When you deform something, and it goes back to where it was afterwards, that is elastic deformation.

When you deform something, and it does not go back to where it was, that is plastic deformation.

Brass cases are elastic for the first ~.001 or .002", and then plastic.

Have you tried to neck size only on the once fired factory brass, or tried new brass? Have you done any measurement comparisons on brass between once fired factory ammo and your handloads after firing to see where the brass is expanding so that it is sticky? I wonder if you are over-sizing and this is causing the sticky situation.