Starting with a .22?

final

G'day,
I'm very new to shooting and Ive been searching for a good rifle to start with. I was thinking of a .308 but ive been told that i should buy a .22 because they have virtualy no recoil and that would help me to work on my technique. Can anyone help with what i should buy?
Also, center fire and rimfire, is one more accurate than the other?
Please help!

A couple of general thoughts, I think a decent .22 rimfire is a good place to start - Cz 452 for instance (very good value for money). In many respects a .22 rimfire is a good investment, a lot of practice / trainig for little money.

That said considering your location I would look at what sort of shooting is available in your area and if there is a choice what interest you. In general there are more .22 clubs than others. On the other hand you may have a limit on the number of rifles you can buy. Put it another way if you want to shoot something big a .22 is not the way to go if you can only have one rifle.

More info would help.

Hope it helps a bit,

David.

For sombody thats never shot before , yes the 22 long rifle which is a rimfire is a great place to start , no recoil , low noise , very cheap to shoot , generaly they are deciently accurate. BUT , they are very limited to range.

But if your wanting to get into shooting at longer ranges then the 223 Rem is a good round to start with , still very low recoil and it'll get you out to 3-400yds with good bullets.

If your just starting to learn try a 22 rimfire. I love shoot mine when you get good tell you friend that you can hit that soda can at 200 yard they will laugh then you can show them up. I do alot of 22LR if im not in a good long range area. If you can make hits at 300 yard with the 22. Then its alot like shooting at 800 to 1000 yards with a centerfire.