SPONSOR PROFILE - Montour County Rifles - Kevin J. Cram

Andy Backus

Field Editor
Staff member
Please give me an overview of what your company does and where you are located.

My name is Kevin J. Cram, I'm 32 years old and owner / operator of Montour County Rifles located in Danville, PA. I'm a full time custom rifle shop that builds complete custom rifles as well as accuracy enhancements to factory rifles. I also do re-barelling, muzzle brakes, action blueprinting, pillar bedding, Duracoat and Cerakote firearm finishing, custom machining and much more.

Chey-Tac on Rocks.jpeg John Mason 7mm WSM #1.jpeg

How long have you been in business, how did you get started, and who are some of the key members of your operation?

I'm a one man show from answering the phones and e-mails to building the rifles to packing and shipping, I do it all. I grew up long range hunting since I was 10 years old. I've always been interested in long range and extreme rifle accuracy. I graduated high school in 1998 from Columbia / Montour Area Vo-Tech where I majored in machine technology. I learned the basics of machining and built a set of custom big eyes as my senior project. I then attended Pennsylvania College of Technology majoring in Automated Mfg. and Tool and Die. During college I was offered a job at the top CNC job shop in the Susquehanna Valley and decided I couldn't turn it down. I loved working at the CNC shop and sometimes in the evening the owner would allow me to come back in and use his machines to tinker on guns. In 2002 I had the opportunity to purchase a machine shop from a good friend from Hagerstown, MD. I moved all the machines and tooling into my garage and after months of waiting I was approved for all my licenses. I opened Montour County Rifles in March 2003. Thinking I could immediately start building rifles full time I left my other job. After a few months of barely getting by I decided to take a full time job at out local county prison. I enjoyed corrections and