Sorting bullets for accuracy

abinok

im not sure if this topic has been covered yet, I tried running a search, but got either nothing or everything. If it has, and somebody can post the link, Ill let this thread die an early death.... On to the topic.

Ive been reading/thinking about the culling process used by many benchrest shooters. supposedly the best way to make the smk's shoot with the custom bullets is selective culling, and grouping the like bullets.
I have been shooting 220SMKs for a couple months now at 1350, and I have notticed a marked trend towards a 2 and 1 group, or 3 and 2 group, depending on 3 or 5 shots.
I just finished sorting a box and a half of these bullets. here is what I found.
lot#001830853
4 @.674
8 @.674
3 @.675
24 @.676
13 @.677
the other was a full box from
lot#001831067
1 @.673
10 @.674
10 @.675
46 @.676
32 @.677
1 @.678

In the next few days im going to find some time to sort the larger samples within a given length for weight as well, then shoot these to see if I can shrink those groups on down.
Any body out there sorting bullets by bearing surface or by any other method than weight?

I had an earlier post on this very subject but I couldn't find it.
Yes, there is an ogive variance in custom bullets and it can make a big difference at long ranges. I noticed that bullets measuring .002" difference in ogive length hit about 2' 6" higher at 1785 yards out of my 6.5-.284! So now I measure every bullet(before and after seating) and put them into rows in my ammo box according to ogive length. The .002" diff didn't make too much difference at 1000 yards, but it was still noticeable on a calm day.

were you measuring from the base to ogive, or ogive/bearing surface juncture to the boattail/bearing surface juncture?

basically the same setup im using. Im using twin comparitors for bearing length measurement. Much faster than using my neco, and youre right, just as accurate if you use cosistant pressure.