Some advise on perfecting my .308 Savage FCP-K Shooting

pzareba

So Im relatively new to the whole long range shooting thing. I started about 3 years ago but got more serious about 2 years ago when I started loading.

So first things first. I'm not doing this to try to win a contest. I do this mostly to compete with myself and see results. I'm an engineer by profession so I always like making fine adjustments to see improvement.

Equipment:

.308 Savage FCP-K
3-15x Weaver Tactical FFP
Buris Heavy Duty Tactical 30mm rings
EGW Picatinny Rail
BiPod (Not a Harris but not a super cheapo one they make these days....not sure the model)
Rear Bag

Loading Supplies:

Nosler CC 168 GR BTHP
Berger 175 GR Match Burners
SMK 180 GR BTHP
Varget
IMR 4064
Winchester Brass (New Never Fired) - 50
Federal Gold Medal Match Brass (Fired about 5-7 times) - 100
PMC (Various use) - 500

The reason I listed all the supplies I have is because times are a little tougher than they used to be and I'd like to use what I have if I can. If need be I can buy certain items if I have too.

So about a year or so ago I went through the process of finding an optimal powder load (Varget 42.2 grains) that seemed to shoot the best out of this gun. From the bench I was usually able to get them 1/4-1/2 MOA at 100 yds all day long. This was using Nosler CC 168 gr bullets and pretty much got the same results with the different brass. At the time I was only really able to shoot it out to 300 yds. It shot not so good at 200 ( I've heard the bullet doesn't really stabilize yet at this distance). About a 2-3 inch group and about a 3 inch group at 300 yds.

I have recently been able to shoot out to 500 yards and I wanted to get some more drop data. The way I went about this was as follows.

FYI - Im zeroed at 200 yds

I shot every 100 yards starting at 100. I used my existing data that Ive already had out to 300 yards and everything pretty much was the same last time I shot the gun.