"Shorter" LR Hunting Bullets

jcpython357

Mountaineer, I'd try the 150MK, and call Sierra for the accuracy load for it, that'll give you your best chance for getting good groups right off the bat, just remember to let your barrel cool in that barrel burning, throat eroder, powder burning 7mm RUM
grin.gif
You should be able get around 1/2MOA or better with that bullet. Jay
P.S. Remember, Shoot slowly or you'll feel the fire.

Mountaineer,
Sit Down Take a Deep Breath and Relax. YOU ALREADY HAVE A 1000YRD GUN. Your main concern should be getting it to shoot good with any of the bullets you have mentioned. Personally I would suggest you go with the AMAX because I have a lot of experience with that bullet along with the SMK and ain't just blowing smoke up your ***. They will literally cut a whitetail in half! But, Use the bullet that will perform the best accuracy wise from the couple three you mentioned. We use a Sendero quite often and it will do the job if you do yours. Don't get in the mindset that you NEED a custom gun that's BS. You have a perfect entry level rifle for LR hunting. Practice , Practice , Practice, Know your equipment and how to use it , Get a buddy and both of you practice watching the bullet wash go into target. Learn to call your shots and make adjustments. Shoot , Shoot , Shoot, learn, practice , shoot , learn, practice, then go kill some shiiiiiistuff!
wink.gif

Mountaineer

It does not matter what other people think now. You have a good LR gun as is. The gun will shoot without major mods, however, you will find that the skim bedding the sendaro and a trigger tune are cheap and will help a lot normally. Might find that a muzzle brake will help you also in the heavy recoiling guns (VAIS for $150). Until then spend $28 for a PAST pad that you just slip on and wear like a shoulder pad for the gun butt to rest against.