short necks.....what problem?

MagnumManiac

I have a question to those of you in the know.
I have been shooting a 300WinMag for over 20 years now, doesn't feel that long, and I have just been reading on another forum how neck length is critical to accuracy. I have never experienced an accuracy problem in my 300, even with it's imperfect neck length (according to some).

Now, my question is this, I have recently finished my 338Edge and it has a very short neck in regard to caliber, just as much as the 300, in my experience it has not taken much work to develop very accurate loads in both with known accurate bullets.

Why are these 2 cartridges so accurate if a long neck is the 'done' thing for accuracy, and where is their accuracy coming from if the necks are too short?

Any insight from you guys, it has me perplexed.

Cheers.
MM.
gun)

Long necks are beneficial for 2 things that I can think of. One is reducing heat and abrasion on the throat and the other is to help keep bullets in line (concentric) when being jostled or worked through the mag and chamber, if you seat them deep in a long neck.

Not sure why anyone would say long necks are "critical" accuracy?

Not a hunting cartridge but the 6 Dasher has a very short neck and is one of the most accurate 600 yd cartridges out there

Not a hunting cartridge but the 6 Dasher has a very short neck and is one of the most accurate 600 yd cartridges out there

Yes, but why is it so?
If the belief is that a neck should be at least one caliber long for good accuracy, why do these cartridges go against the grain and shoot far more accurately than most that do have long necks that are generally longer than one caliber.

Cheers.
gun)

Yes, but why is it so?
If the belief is that a neck should be at least one caliber long for good accuracy, why do these cartridges go against the grain and shoot far more accurately than most that do have long necks that are generally longer than one caliber.

Cheers.
gun)