Shooting my 338 LM @ 2200 meter

Yrcan

I thought I should share my small experience shooting at real long range with my 338 Lapua.
I have been shooting long range for the last 2 years now, nothing real serious, but after I bought myself a rifle and had it customised to my specs, things have gotten more complicated and my shooting skills has improved, alot.

The rifle is a Rem 700 MLR Police. I removed the original barrel, too short in my opinion, and rebarreld the action with a LW barrel, being 32" long and 1.1" thick at the mussle. I also replaced the original stock with a AICS 1.5

I have been writing alot about my shooting with it on a norwegian forum, similar to this, and I have posted various videos of shooting past 1000 meters, and some good groups at 100 and 300 meters. I have not shot on paper targets past 300 meter yet, but I'm shooting steel plates out to 1300 meters.

There has been a discussion whether it is possible to shoot out to 2000 meters, and beyond. Some said it can't be done unless a whole lot of criterias are followed, and there has been alot of teori talk. I'm not the teoretic kinda guy, I like to take my rifle out to the field and actually test what is possible with my tools.

Today, I tried for 2000 meters and beyond, shooting at at rock lying next to the waterline in a fjord here where I live. Weather was perfect so I went for it.
I use Shooter, and it said I should dial 103.5 MOA for 2000 meters. I have 104 MOA in my scope (Millett LRS 5x25x56). Aimed 0.5 MIL left for spin and made the shot. Too short, I ended up at almost 6 MILS to reach the rock. My scope was at 14x so I guess it would be close to 10 MILS at 25x.

I let the silencer cool down, and made another 5 shot trial at the rock. I did not mean to hit it, as it is difficult to actually see any impacts at that range, so I was hoping to hit the water right infront of it. I did, and it is easy to se that the bullets grouped well.