Shooting heavy recoiling rifle from bench-beginner here

Get a Past recoil shield. mtmuley
Loading a bipod foreshortens (reduces) the effective vertical height of the bipod.....like a clock hand moving off of 12 position. Upon recoil, this height reduction is regained pushing the fore end...and barrel...vertically. Typically causes vertical rise or stringing of group. Bipod feet also commonly skitter across a bench surface in recoil. As suggested earlier in replies, ditch the bipod; use bag/pack under fore end and allow rifle to slide rearward with recoil.

I had a 300 RUM that shot pretty good but I traded it because it just kicked too hard!
Living in Kentucky I really didn't need such a rifle...
Lordy Carl, I use a .338WM on the BIG groundhogs here in West Kentucky and it kills them all,never need a second shot..LOL

Thank you for answering why you don't want a muzzle brake.... noise and influence on nearby people in a hunting setting, etc. Might still want to look into Mag-na-Porting as it will force gases UP through holes that are EDM'd onto the top and top/side of the barrel. Will help with lift and also offer *some* recoil reduction. The noise also goes up instead of sideways like a brake.

Magnaporting makes the gun extremely loud and throws the flash up right in your eyes. It also significantly shortens your effective barrel length.

A quality muzzle brake is a far better solution.

Shooting off a bench is totally different to shooting off a bi-pod from prone or sitting in the field.
I have a few 338WM's, a Model 70 EW that is a pussycat to shoot from any position, 2 Kimber 8400's in select grade and Super America and a Rem 700 KS. The latter being harsh in recoil due to the hard rubber factory pad, the other 3 all have decelerators on them which dampen recoil very well.