Shooting Chrony F1 question, need help!

Discussion in 'Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics' started by backwoods83, Jan 18, 2012.

  1. backwoods83

    backwoods83 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,206
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    I got a new F1 as a carry around compact, I ran some known 30-06 loads through it, it was sunny and 38* outside, the cold bore 06 went 2898, then I ran 5 shots 2924, 2926, 2925, 2928, and 2930 this is on par only 10fps lower than my competitive edge millennium, here's the kicker I loaded 35 rounds of 300wsm with 208 amaxs, 65.5grns hybrid, cci br2, win brass, .015" in the lands, this is the normal load for this rifle, stays around 2840fps usually, this is from a 24" barreled 700 sps, today 4 rounds 2947, 2952, 3002, and 3004, wtf, has anyone seen anything strange like this before? I was 18ft from chrony when those were fired and as usual not even close to pressure, I'm lost.
     
  2. T3-OleMan

    T3-OleMan Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    638
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Did conditions change between #2 & # 3????
    Like, did the SUN pop out at that point and you may not have had the cover tops in place etc????? OR, did opposite occur?

    Another thing that could have happened is some how there is more powder in the last 2. You loaded 35, What did the other 31 DO????

    Another thing that could have happened is you did something in your cleaning process different- liked cleaned out 3 years of copper buildup etc... -or different primers or different BRASS?????

    Think about all of these and see if you can come up with more input. I sure would like to know---I have the Master Alpha -(cheap-o) and hope we can get more input from all cause I don't get close #s all the time, not this big though.
     

  3. backwoods83

    backwoods83 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,206
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    No, the sun on my left side the whole time, just wondering if anyone has had any issues with this unit before, that's way fast for a 208 in a 24" barrel, but as I said the the 30-06 was right on par it tends to stay in the single digit ES's. I do know that I'm going to have to secure the shades, they poped off twice when shoot a 250 sav through it. It seems easy and well made for the size and price and its conveient to carry but if it acts up its useless.
     
  4. T3-OleMan

    T3-OleMan Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    638
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009

    Have you looked at these I added?
     
  5. backwoods83

    backwoods83 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,206
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    I didn't shoot but 4 just to check it out but I weigh powder down to the tenth and double check afterwards, brass was same lot 4th firing, neck sized, same bullet, primer, and powder lots as well. No special cleaning for this rifle, its just a loan out or back up deer rifle.
     
  6. T3-OleMan

    T3-OleMan Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    638
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    New LOT of powder???
     
  7. backwoods83

    backwoods83 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,206
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Nope same lot, got 4#s when I picked it up.
     
  8. T3-OleMan

    T3-OleMan Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    638
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Did you test the unit later with a nother known Qty.?
    It might be toasting??
     
  9. backwoods83

    backwoods83 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,206
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    No, I normally don't setup unless I'm developing, or checking ES and SD on my bench guns, its a pain in the a$$. I will definently check them side by side next time I setup but I figured id throw this out there and see if someone else had any issues.