Sendero in 7mm Short Magnum?

I know, if it isn't a full blown custom rifle, it probably isn't worth a second look to most you guys. But, when I was at the range blowing up some balloons with my new Savage 7mm Rem Mag, a guy showed up with a brand new Remington 700 Sendero in 7mm short magnum. It sure looked like a nice rifle. His groups were smaller than mine, and when aasked him, he said it was because Remington uses better quality barrels than Savage does, and that the short mag is more accurate than a regular magnum because it has no belt and that it is shorter, like the 6mmPPC or 7BR designs.

Anyways, how would this rig be as a LR deer rifle, with the 150 gr. Sierra MatchKing? (that is what he was shooting).

Im new to this post I dont know how a 7mm sum stacks up but I bought myself a Rem 7mm ultra mag Sendero, put a 4.5-14 leoupold on top adj. the triger to two pounds and I love it. I think Rem. makes a good out of box rifle.

MMAM, That rifle would make a very nice LR rifle with that bullet, that or a Win. chambered in 7mmWSM would be my choices, that bullet will be tried in my Rem. 708 S/S in the near future, can you tell me what size his groups were, holes touching or not? I figure the 150MK in my 708 should be good to 700yds, the short mag should be good to 1000, 3000FPS.
wink.gif
Jay

They were all touching. I was very jelous. That Sendero is some shooter. My belted Rem Mag will only do 1" for 5 shots with my handloads. It is a Savage, with 168 gr. Sierras. I load 66.5 gr. H4831.

Cool it, Mr. Magnum
cool.gif