secrets of straightening a barrel

21buck

Several years ago there was an article by a gunsmith who described how to straighten out a barrel at home. I wanted to save it but time has its way and now it is gone when I really need to apply the principles to anew barrel. It seems that most barrels have somewhat of a curve in them due to in advertant heat abberations during contouring. Your help is appreciated. 21 buck

Several years ago there was an article by a gunsmith who described how to straighten out a barrel at home. I wanted to save it but time has its way and now it is gone when I really need to apply the principles to anew barrel. It seems that most barrels have somewhat of a curve in them due to in advertant heat abberations during contouring. Your help is appreciated. 21 buck

Most barrels makers will tell you that .004 to .005 Thousandths Total indicated run out is
exceptable. most smiths that have accuracy guarantees will tell you less.

I am no expert on what is the max run out so I reject anything over .0015.

I use barrels from makers that are normally close to 0 run out and have very good success
with them.

One such barrel maker explained to me that there is no real reason not to have a straight barrel
and I could send any one that is not back and he would replace it and pay shipping.

I have visited barrel shops and the main reason is that a barrel is contoured taking to much
of a cut at one time and/or stress relieving was not done correctly.

Barrels used to be straightened because the drilling process was not as good as it is now.

Some factory barrels are still straightened but it takes a high degree of skill and special
tools, Plus true north light.

If you have a barrel that is not straight SEND IT BACK.

With all of the barrels makers out there there is no reason to except anything but a good barrel
at the cost of a premium custom barrel.

J E CUSTOM