Seating VDLS

birddog67

I am having problems loading 210 VDL for my ultra mag , first I am using a RCBS gold metal die set , I am neck sizing only . .336 most all my cases are max lenght . 2.84- 2.85 max , I use a loaded factory round to adjust my bullet seating die , that is right at 3.60 , . Also I have the chafer tool from RCBS onmy case prep machine the I use to help the VDL as is goes into the neck ,
So my first bullet loaded is 3.609 , then I adjust it down .009 .
Seat the next bullet it's 3.603 . Then I adjust it down .003 .
Seat the next bullet then I get 3.610 ,

It seams the die is all over the place is this something I am doing or not doing ? What die is best to seat VDLs , should I just buy a regular die ? my die is not moving in the press I have it locked down , what could it be ,I am new to reloading , thanks

It s not your seating process it is the way you are measuring the length. You will get those results measuring the tip of the bullet as they vary in length at the tip. What you need is a " Bullet Comparator" to measure the length of the O give of the bullet at the land diameter, to the head of the case. Chances are if you were measuring with a comparator all would be very close in length.

Jeff

It s not your seating process it is the way you are measuring the length. You will get those results measuring the tip of the bullet as they vary in length at the tip. What you need is a " Bullet Comparator" to measure the length of the O give of the bullet at the land diameter, to the head of the case. Chances are if you were measuring with a comparator all would be very close in length.

Jeff

+1 on what Broz said. I remember going through this about 8 yrs ago. My reloading bench still has the dents in the wood from me banging my head into it from frustration! Hornady makes a bullet comparator and you can get it from MidwayUSA or any other reloading place.