seating bullets

I

ISB

Hey pros--Is there a rule of thumb as to the minimum depth a bullet can be seated into the case in referance to the diameter of the bullet--I have read about seating off the rifling , but there has to be some rule out there as to how far out of the case you can seat the bullet and still remain safe and obtain accuracy.? Clear as mud--I hope not---
Thanks Charlie

Welcome aboard!!!

I'm not a pro by any means however I like to talk alot;)

In factory case, '06, 270, 280 for example, I only resize the neck one caliber from the mouth. Somewhere, years ago, I picked up that idea from someone.

On the other end of the spectrum, the further the bullet is seated out the lower the velocity and pressure up to the point when the bullet is jammed into the rifling. It may be appropriate at that point to reduce the powder charge a bit.

Usually, in a sporting rifle, the seating depth is determined more by what will work in the magazine more than anything else.

HTH

ISB,
A good 'rule of thumb' is that one calibre of seating depth,i.e .277 into the case mouth for 270 rounds,but,and this is a big BUT,most calibres larger than .224 won't be able to be seated this way because the bullets are simply too long for this.Case neck length differs from cartridge to cartridge,and this will change seating depths significantly.
If you are shooting a target/varmint calibre,the above rule will mostly work,and it does in the 22-250,22-250 AI,220 swift and others.
If it is a hunting rifle you're using,then the magazine length,throat length and length of the bullet will determine the seating depth.
The 25-06 is a very good example of throat length influencing the seating depth.This cartridge is chambered with so many different throat lengths,even in factory rifles,that there is no 'rule of thumb' for it.