Scopes for the magnum pistol

grampayeehaa

I have resisted scoping my 8 1/2" Tauras Raging Bull in 454 Casull but the accuracy of the weapon cries out for glass. I have read all the literature and product reviews for the top hand gun scopes and they all sound as if they could stand up to everything a hand gun can dish out. Then you read reviews of actual users and the truth comes out.

I am looking for real big bore handgunners for their opinion as to what they think is the scope that can take it. Shelling out some $400.00 for a scope that turns in to a pile of useless junk after only a few rounds does not excite me.

The 2-6 Bushnell has a good record of holding together well with 454's.
In the future I am going wring out a 454 at longer distances, and the 2-6 Bushy will be one of the optics I use.
I have never used a variable LER scope on a 454 before, so this will be a first for me as well.

Several months from now I should have a better firsthand experience to your question.
E

I shoot a 2x Leupold on my 45-70 BFR and had a 2x8 Leupold on my 12" 454 Encore. I could not get used to the recoil of the 454 and it went down the road I now have the same 2x8 Leupold on my 16" 50 Alaskan Encore pistol. The Leupolds are tough and the 454 will punish any type of optic so buy one with a warantee, you will need it eventually.

Thanks guys. I had no idea that Bushnell made a scope strong enought to withstand that heavy recoil. Let me know how it turns out.

I have a shooting buddy that has owned three Leupolds. Non of which held up and had to be sent back for repair. He swears that he will never own another Leupold.

The Bushnell recommendation comes from non other Bob Baker (Freedom Arms). That is a pretty good recommnedation.
If I remember correctly Bushnell has two lines of handgun scopes, and I am assuming it is the bettter line.

I've got a 2-8 Leupold in 3 Burris Signature Rings on a Taurus Mount.
6687Guns_040.jpg