Scope -Dialing Up Elevation ?

ol mike

Howdoo,
I'm just getting into dialing up elevation and have a couple of questions.
Whats the best way/place to start,sight in at 250yds and expierament out from there on your drops?

Do you have a mark or something to come back to zero ,on the elevation turret?

Is a simple card taped on the stock w/clicks per yards a good way ?
Going to try for the 500 yard club on my spring praire dog shoot with a 22-250. Thanks Mike

[ QUOTE ]
Whats the best way/place to start,sight in at 250yds and expierament out from there on your drops?

[/ QUOTE ]
I'm sure someone will disagree, but I like to be zeroed @ 100 yds. For me, it just makes things much more simple.

[ QUOTE ]
Do you have a mark or something to come back to zero ,on the elevation turret?

[/ QUOTE ]
Depending on your scope, but most have a way to set a zero, so to speak. Whether it be by lifting and turning the turret or by loosening a set screw.

[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

Should work great. If you can, get out and practice a little at the ranges you plan to shoot to confirm your drops. With a little practice, you'll get the 500 yarder!!

[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

That should work well but I would reccomend noting the adjustments in MOA and remaining clicks.
If your scope has 1/4 MOA per click adjustments and you want to dial up 43 clicks that is alot to count and keep track of while keeping an eye on your deer. But if you think of it as 10 MOA plus 3 clicks it is much easier to deal with. I am assuming that your scope turrets are marked in groups of 4 lines ie:a tall line and 3 short ones then a tall line and 3 short ones and so on. Even better if they have numbers above the tall lines noting the MOA steps.

If your range card says 10+3 or 22+0 or 45+1 that saves ALOT of counting and susequently an error that might result in a miss at the extended ranges.