Scope clicks don't take on first shot ?

Discussion in 'Long Range Scopes and Other Optics' started by ol mike, May 8, 2007.

  1. ol mike

    ol mike Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,160
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Scope clicks don\'t take on first shot ?

    Guys i'm doing some fine tuning on a couple of loads for a 270win..
    The scope i'm using is a nikon monarch 5.5 x 16.5 -44mm.

    I did some shooting out to 355yds and when i turn the clicks the first shot stays at the zero setting.
    Then the next 2 shots [3 shot groups] were on target.
    What can be done ? anything ?

    Is the scope worthless as titsona bore-hog ?

    How can the clicks sound firm in the detents but not 'take'?
     
  2. royinidaho

    royinidaho Writers Guild

    Messages:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Re: Scope clicks don\'t take on first shot ?

    Back in the 'old' days a tap on the turrets with something sometimes helped. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/crazy.gif

    I'd think that going beyond then back to the correct adjustment may be worth a try. That's what I do until I get more confidence in things.

    Choice 3 would be a warranty call. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif
     

  3. Flybuster

    Flybuster Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    371
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Re: Scope clicks don\'t take on first shot ?

    Don't really know the mechanics of it all. But my friends scope does it when he's changing his sight in zero, He taps on the dial he moves then shoots. Almost as if he's trying to knock it in place.
     
  4. edge

    edge Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,088
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Re: Scope clicks don\'t take on first shot ?

    The machinist in me makes me always crank in the direction of the arrows! UP & RIGHT

    If I have to go the other way I always go 4 clicks past the actual amount, then I go 4 clicks in the direction of the arrows. Just like taking the backlash out of an old lathe or mill.

    edge.
     
  5. ol mike

    ol mike Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,160
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Re: Scope clicks don\'t take on first shot ?

    I rememnber hearing/reading that before -go past then go back.

    I did do the pecking on the scope to no avail.

    Will give the past and back a whirl !
     
  6. .222

    .222 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    77
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Re: Scope clicks don\'t take on first shot ?

    ...and the prize goes to... Edge. Yes, the final adjustment is to tighten.
    ~z
     
  7. BountyHunter

    BountyHunter Writers Guild

    Messages:
    4,790
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Re: Scope clicks don\'t take on first shot ?

    You have hit a pretty common issue with many scopes and some high end ones too. it is always a good idea to 4-5 past and then come down or back.

    The issue is that the tension may not release and allow movement on just one or two clicks but on recoil will suddenly jump. Pardon my laymans description.

    BH