Scope and ammo for Long range hunting?Newbie here!

buckand bull

Hello All, I just had a question on scopes. I am new to the long range shooting and am real excited to get into it. I have a 300 win mag model 70 with custom ported barrel and trigger. I was looking into scopes and was thinking about getting the leupoold 4.5 X 14 X 40 vx3 with the cds dial calibrated for my ammo. Is this a good choice for shooting out to say 600 yards? I am looking into shooting 165 grain bullets but wasnt sure what everyone reccomends for manufacturer it will be for big game hunting. Any oppinions would be appreciated.

Thanks
Patrick

i have several leup scopes and they work great. i have a couple 300 wm , both are very very accurate as well. the 165 grain bullets should be good out to 600 and more depending on what groups you are getting with them out of your rifle.

Ok great thanks. do you have any preferences on ammunition manufacturers for 165 grain bullets such as hornady, rem, barnes, etc..?

Thanks

If I knew that would help but I purchased the gun last year and there are no markings on the barrel, and it has a muzzle break. The trigger pull has been adjusted. It is a nice gun though and just looking to practice and shoot out to 500 yards with a good scope and ammunition. I hunt mostly Deer, Elk, antelope, bear and hopefully moose and caribou one of these days. Any ideas on scopes and bullet manufacturers would be great.

Thanks

BUCKAND- I Shoot all handloads. all rilfes have their preference . a good barrel helps. i would sho0t a 165 horn or sierra btsp, or a 168 combined tech bullet for cow elk and deer. for bulls i MIGHT change to a 165 ACCUBOND. sorry not sure how that translates to factory ammo. i know others have good results with barnes . they are expensive, and will shoot clear through a bull elk.