Scope advice requested: Nikon, Super Sniper, Leupold

zingdingo

I'm approaching my first scope dilemma in a little while, and I see the need for another scope as an opportunity to try in person one of the exceptional products I've heard about, I just want to make sure that I get something that will best fit my needs.

I have a 6.5-284 on order from Kirby right now, I anticipate its arrival sometime this winter. While it should be a very nice custom gun, due to my financial position (I'm a student without a job) the projects budget is particularly tight. In the past year I've been scanning these boards, a couple of scopes have consistently come up whenever long range performance for the money is mentioned. The two I have probably seen the most praise for, esp. recently, are the Nikon Buckmaster 4.5-14 SF and the Super Sniper fixed power scopes (the 16x seems to me to be the most appropriate of the three for my situation).

With this gun I plan on doing shooting practice (I'm somewhat green to the whole precision shooting game and am looking forward to a rifle I can count on as an accurate platform off of which I can improve technique), long range groundhog hunting (the goal for next summer is to stretch my p.r. from 600 yards to 1000), a little long range deer hunting (I live on a crop farm which needs some crop damage control deer taken throughout the year), and just maybe some type of long range or groundhog shoot (I live in southwest PA and I know there are a variety of shoots within a few hours drive.)