savage LRH 338 lapua

Discussion in 'Gunsmithing' started by HANDLER, Oct 2, 2011.

  1. HANDLER

    HANDLER Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    876
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    i want to convert my savage lrh 338 lapua too 300 rum,,,do i just need to change the bolt head?thnx,,,to make a switch barrel gun!
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2011
  2. rscott5028

    rscott5028 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,608
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Sorry, but I just have to ask... Why?
     

  3. HANDLER

    HANDLER Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    876
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    cost of brass,,,then i can switch,back and forth,as i can afford lapua brass,thnx
     
  4. Loner

    Loner Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    599
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    You are taking a big step backwards and adding a lot of cost to your shooting. The rum
    brass is cheaper but it will take several worn out barrels to ever recoup the cost of shooting two calibers instead of one. And the 338 will outrun it by a bunch. Been out
    with both recently. The savage 338 just yesterday. It was a hammer @ a 1000.
     
  5. dogdinger

    dogdinger Writers Guild

    Messages:
    697
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    surely you mean to change the barrel also? or are you just gonna shoot those 30 cal bullets down a 338 bore? either way makes about as much sense to me. you already have a better caliber than the 300. you must arleady have some brass. compare that to the price of a barrel, bolt head AND the brass for the 300 and you would be crazy to consider it. Unless you just want to have a swich barrel gun that you can use for different situations, then hell go for it, in fact get a 7rum barrel while you are at it.
     
  6. HANDLER

    HANDLER Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    876
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    ya right,,a barrel swap too,didnt know i had to put in so much detail for a simple question,,,i have a multitude of 180 accubonds,3,,30 cal mcgowen blanks,,,im not shootin over 1200 yards,where the 338 would earn its keep,,,so are there any answers to the original question???if not thnx anyways
     
  7. rscott5028

    rscott5028 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,608
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Yes. You have to swap the bolt head.

    You have to replace and headspace a new barrel.

    The magazine should work just fine. But, the feeding may need tweaking since the RUM shoulder may be farther forward.

    -- richard
     
  8. HANDLER

    HANDLER Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    876
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    ok,thnx for the replys