savage for accuracy?

robinstan

Has any one had any experience with the new savage model 12bvss in the 300 win short mag? I would like to know how accurate it is out of the box and how sound it is built. Any information would be helpful. Thanks

Should be a few folks here somewhere using the Sa... Sa... Sava...Savage (I knew I cound get that out). from the many reports the "S" word rifles shoot very well.
smile.gif

Chris , do you or have you built any guns on the Savage actions ?
If so how do you go about accurizing one
I'm thinking that you would indicate off the barrel threads to true the lug recesses and action face and I guess you'ld have to hand lap that floating head then lap the bolt face true ?

My 11Fl in 300 WSM will keep them in 3/4 inch, and is easy to shoot well. For a relatively light 300 magnum, that's fine for me.

As a professional rifle builder, I hate to admit it, but the **** things do shoot! the biggest problem with them is too many parts (so what do they do but add more to that stupid accutrigger!)and they will carry the rep of "cheap" with them.

Have found the Savage action to be as accurate to build on as the Rem 700. Had one 112 S/S after blueprinting, pillor bedding and a Basix trigger got 21/8" group @ 800 yds. Sierra 190 gr. M/K @ 2900 fps. Best 1000 group 101/2", this was shooters fault tho. Factory bbl. Usually use Lilja bbls. Indicate bolt face and Action like Rem. Use aftermarket lug,pinned, shoulder bbl....FWIW....jurras
shocked.gif

Fred Moreo over at Sharp Shooter Supply is reputed to be pretty handy at fixing up a Savage action; If you go to www.savageshooters.com and look thru the Articles page, I believe there is a photo tour of what all he does on a Savage action as far as trueing it up.