savage build

the shotty

I kinda hate to do another one of these threads but I have been researching for a few months now and am about ready to get this thing going, just want to make sure this is the right direction. First forgive me as this may be long winded.
I want to build up a long range elk thumper pretty set on either 300 rum or 338 rum. No edge at this point due to prefering a factory chambering though I do reload. I currently have a tikka 300wsm and an old savage in .270 I got from my grandfather. I'm thinking of selling the tikka and using the savage action which makes me think 338 rum would be in my favor being slightly shorter coal.
I would like something resembling the mcmillan eol outdoorsman for the overall build so I'm thinking as follows

- shilen select in a threaded 26"
-muscle break 3 or 4 port?
- manners ultralight stock or mcmillan ultralight with a DE cheek piece
-good but pad
-either a sss trigger or the like, maybe even modifying an accu-trigger
-egw 20 moa base
-viper vortex pst 4-16, don't know about rings yet

Any thoughts/comments/ concerns?
In order to keep cost down and because its not a big deal to me I'm planning on single load only.
Hoping to achieve 9-10 lbs for rifle.
The guys I hunt with carry 338 rum, 375h&h,458 win into the woods all of which I have shot a bit. And while not pleasant, not that bad to shoot so I'm sure I can handle a slightly heavier braked 338rum just fine. With that being said I have a savage model 12lrp with the hs stock and de cheek piece I spend a bit of time practicing with and am competent to 6-700 yards and can hit at 1k though still working with that one. My point being that this build isn't my only long range boomer or experience I just want something with more authority for elk. Im not planning on this being much of a brush/woods gun though it will see some timber. I want something mostly for overlooking clear cuts.