Savage 110 FCP 338 Lapua Question

Hunter15

I recently purchased a Savage 110 FCP 338 Lapua in the Hs-precision stock. I am in the procees of working up a load and have yet to find the "magic ingredients". So first I will list my current load combinations. I am shooting 300gr Berger Elite Hunters out of Lapua Brass. This is accompanied with various amounts of H1000 and CCI magnum primers. Through out the various powder charges they have all consistantly shot an approx. 1.5" group at 100 yds. Obviously this gun is capable of much more. So, my question to you is where do I go from here. I am thinking of jumping to retumbo and testing. If that doesnt work I was thinking of the 300gr SMK. Does this sound like a reasonble process of elimination. I am not new to LR shooting or relaoding but, on the same token I am no expert. Let me know your thoughts and what you would do if faced with this situation. Just as a side note I did not plan to change seating depth (which is at .020 off lands) until I found a tighter shooting group. Does that seem reasonable? Any and all of your help is greatly appreciated!

Try some Retumbo and start at 89gr. and work up. My Lapua likes 94.0gr with the 300gr hybrid. I have mine .015" off the lands, but you may have to seat them out to the lands to get the accuracy you are looking for. You could also take the best load you have as of now and try different seating depths and see what happens. If that doesn't fix the problem and you groups don't tighten up check to see if there isn't something loose. Also make sure that the barrel isn't touching the stock anywhere and is completely free floated, make sure you do this in the position that you would normally shoot from. Ie from a bypod and rear bag! Lastly you may have to move out to say 200 yards for load development to allow the bullet to stableize in flight.