Runout question

winmagman

If you take a loaded round and roll it on a flat suface how much bullet runout has to be present to see it with the naked eye.
I don't own a runout guage and was wondering how bad it has to be to be seen.
Thanks
Chris

If you are going to chase the runout demon, you need to get a guage. I have a RCBS Casemaster, but the Sinclair looks to be better.

I'm guessing around .005 runout will be detected with the eye rolling one across a flat surface. I doubt much less....sakofan.....

I have the new NECO gauge. I tested some old ammo that had 4-6 thou runout. It seemed like a lot so I just spun it in the Vee block. Sure enough, those with 5+ runout had a very visible wobble. I don't know how easy it would be without the vee blocks.

Thanks guys
I still have not decided if I'll get a guage or not. The more I read on this topic the more I wish I'd never heard of runout.
I recently had 2 rounds (out of 12) that were so bad they wouldn't chamber, but I've got new Forster dies on the way hoping they eliminate that problem.
I don't shoot competativly so I don't need the last 1/2 thou. of accuracy but I would like to stay under 1 moa out to 750 yds.
This requires more thought.
Chris

Got a very picky friend; who remedied his runout problem by changing to Forster Benchrest dies. Now that's all he uses! Good Shootin'

buy a guage!!! in this sport,.to really get it down to brass tacks,..you will be measuring things you have absolutely no chance of seeing with the naked eye. .005" runout is nothing more than a fouler shot or a sighter shot to test windage drift.

I bought a gauge and found that I had a lot of runout. I was going to get a new press and dies. I have and old turret style press and RCBS dies. However, I did some neckturning, and now my runout is really good. I get maybe 8-10 with .002 in a box of 50, and at least 30 with less than .001. After neckturning, the seating operation even feels smoother. I won't bother with new dies etc for now.