running out of elevation.

Discussion in 'Long Range Hunting & Shooting' started by gohring3006, Jul 24, 2014.

  1. gohring3006

    gohring3006 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,689
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    I was at the range and I usually use hold over to get to 400 but I decided to dial for range and ran out of elevation. I got it to 400 but it was raised all the way to stop. TC venture, Bushnell scope. My question is do they make a 20moa ring set or do I need a rail ? Has any one replaced the bases on a Venture with a rail ?
     
  2. bullfrog

    bullfrog Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    156
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Burris signature rings and offset insert kit will do what you need.
     

  3. MudRunner2005

    MudRunner2005 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    10,078
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    It NEVER hurts to upgrade to a good qaulity rail (EGW, Farrell, NF, etc...), and a good set of rings (Seekins, TPS TSR, NF, Leupy MK4, etc...).

    I've about got all mine swapped over to rail systems, so I can remove and interchange scopes without having to re-cant them all to make sure they're level, because once they're locked into those rings, they ain't moving left or right, as long as you got them properly torqued in there.
     
  4. Canadian Bushman

    Canadian Bushman Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,650
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    +1 to what mudrunner said.

    A quality base is so often overlooked as a critical componet of a set up. Never hurts to bed the base as well.
     
  5. FearNoWind

    FearNoWind Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,314
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    IMO, either the Burris Z rings with inserts or the +MOA rail will work. It'd be less expensive to go the +MOA rail and you can always add the Z rings with inserts if you need to fine tune it a little more.
    Be sure to bed that rail ... gun)
     
  6. gohring3006

    gohring3006 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,689
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Thanks guys, I looked into the Burris setup and it would be cheaper to go with a rail I just hope I can get one to fit my action contour I can custom fit it if the screw holes line up if not it might be easier to use the Burris rings...
     
  7. pyroducksx3

    pyroducksx3 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    782
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    What scope are you running that runs out of adjustment at 400 yards? Even using 308 data and 168 sierras I get less than 5 MOA in correction. If your scope only has 5 MOA in elevation I say get a new scope
     
  8. gohring3006

    gohring3006 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,689
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    I was confused with that as well I didn't have enough loads with me to try and figure out what was going on with the scope. I'm going back out asap.
     
  9. FEENIX

    FEENIX Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    9,806
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Please let me know if that works out so I can pass it on to my friends with TC Ventures.

    The Burris zee rings with inserts are simply amazing, you can get up to ~40 MOA correction/gain ...

    [ame="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wcRAX5OLtJE"]The Burris Signature Ring Moucorrectionting System - YouTube[/ame]
     
  10. gohring3006

    gohring3006 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,689
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    I will asap I ordered them I figure it would be the easiest solution.