Rookie looking for great help

dkweeks

I am new to long range shooting and I am looking for a rifle to handle 500 - 1000 yard shots. I am interested in the Remington 700 CDL 7mm ultra mag, but open to suggestions for the best caliber and rifle. I know that this will need some work to achieve the accuracy that I am looking for. I am looking to know what parts may need to be upgraded;ie. barrel, trigger, etc. as well as what scope and mounts to use. If there are any gunsmithing issues that need to be addressed, please let me know. I have heard of so many things (bedding the stock/barrel?, muzzle brakes, etc.) and don't know what I will need. How long should I expect a rifle to last and what may wear out? Any help for a rookie would be greatly appreciated.

thats a lot of questions, and a lot of them you'll have to decide from just researching this site.

first things first...get the trigger done, and put a good scope on it, and see how it shoots. Then go from there if you need more work done to achieve your level of expected accuracy...ie...new barrel, trued action and so on.

SO get your gun, get a trigger job and some good glass, and start working up your loads.

there is a TON of info on this site, so use the search button and start studying, alot of your questions will get answered as you do that....have fun..

I was in the same boat last year, interested in long range shooting and hunting. I saved up the extra money and bought a slightly used custom remington from the classified section. I didn't want to take any chances on a factory barrel or chamber. After working up some loads, I knew I made the right decision.

dkweeks,
Welcome to the forum. I'm with lovdasnow on this, plus a muzzel brake.
That Ultramag in a CDL is going to pound your shoulder.
When you are comfortable and confident shooting your Ultramag, step up for a re-barrel, action job, stock etc but get a muzzel brake straight away.

Ian.